Sign in with
Your question

Quad or Dual Core for Gaming?

Last response: in CPUs
April 16, 2011 5:00:27 AM

I've been out of the high-end gaming for a while now (Yes, I went back to console...I'm sorry) and theres a few questions that need asking.
Seeing as many of today's games only use one or two cores, and a few use four, would one still be better off getting a 2.66ghz QUAD over a 3.0 DUAL, both at 1333? I have very little doubt that TESV:Skyrim won't support quad cores, but I'm still playing games like Oblivion and such that only technically use a single core. Does 2.66ghz still stand up well? (I'm having purchase doubts. Second guessing myself.)

The build so far:

P5QL-VM DO mobo
Q8400 Dual Core at 1333mhz, 4m cache, 2.66ghz.
2x 2ghz 800mhz RAM (Corsair)
Nvidia 9800GX2
OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W ATX 20/24PIN

;; I guess this is sort of my way of double checking to make sure everything fits and works together. I'm no expert; I just match and double check the numbers and such.

More about : quad dual core gaming

a b à CPUs
April 16, 2011 5:03:24 AM

Are you upgrading or building a new rig?
April 16, 2011 5:06:41 AM

ghnader hsmithot said:
Are you upgrading or building a new rig?

New Rig. The board and video card were given to me for free, which is helping to keep the cost down. Either way, its a big upgrade over my Single Core Athlon 64 2.21ghz 1m L2 Cache. I'm just trying to build the best gaming rig in my range right now. The 2.66 quad and 3.00 dual are nearly the same price.
Related resources
April 16, 2011 5:17:09 AM

It really just depends, old games will take more advantage of the dual but newer games are greatly benefited from quad cores. So to future proof, go with the quad. Just my opinion.
April 16, 2011 5:22:38 AM

neonmonkey said:
It really just depends, old games will take more advantage of the dual but newer games are greatly benefited from quad cores. So to future proof, go with the quad. Just my opinion.