Server, NAS, or something else for my usage?

jizzles

Distinguished
Apr 11, 2009
Hello I'm back again. After a successful PC build, I am now on to my next project. I have been researching about servers and NAS systems. I'm not sure exactly what I need. It seems I could go either way, but I think a server would be the best choice for redundancy purposes. Also, as long as I've been using computers....I have little knowledge to RAID setups. My friend recommended to go with RAID 5 or 10+1? Not sure...lol still doing research on this.

Approximate Purchase Date: Can purchase parts now...thinking of waiting for CPU in February when the I3/5 V.2 comes out

Budget Range: As low as possible...trying to stay around $400 or less...up to $500 after rebate(s)

System Usage from Most to Least Important: storage for documents, pictures, music, movies (from avi to 720p .mkv), torrent/newsgroup downloads

Parts Not Required: keyboard, mouse, monitor, speakers

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: NewEgg or anywhere that is reliable and cheap

Country of Origin: U.S.A. >> California

Parts Preferences: No preferences but I believe the SB CPUs would be great for this build...maybe?

Overclocking: No

SLI or Crossfire: No

Monitor Resolution: I don't think this really matters for this system?

Additional Comments: This system is going to be strictly used for storage especially for pictures and videos. We're on our second child (8 months now) and there are pictures and videos galore. We are currently transferring our DVDs/BR to sleeves and at the same time I am converting them and placing them on my current PC storage. I'd like to eventually move these files off my PC and onto this server/NAS/whatever build.