Solved

New Build Advice

Hello,

I'm putting together a gaming system for the first time (I'd consider myself moderately technical when it comes to PC/gaming hardware). First, does anyone see a problem or incompatibility with the specs below?

Second, I plan on over-clocking the 2500k. There is enough information out there about how to do this, but I'm worried about cooling. The NZXT case has 2 120mm fans, and 2 140mm fan ports. Will air cooling be sufficient (assuming I put in more fans)? I'd rather avoid installing liquid cooling. I have zero experience with that stuff.

Thanks for your input!

p.

----------

NZXT M59-001BK M59 Gaming Mid Tower Case - ATX, mATX, Baby ATX

Ultra LSP750 750-Watt Power Supply - ATX, SATA-Ready, SLI-Ready, 135mm Fan

Gigabyte GA-P67A-UD3 Intel P67 Motherboard

Intel Core i5-2500K 3.30GHz Quad-Core

Western Digital Caviar Black Hard Drive - 1TB, 7200RPM, 64MB, SATA 6Gbs

Corsair XMS3 4GB DDR3 RAM - PC10666, 1333MHz

Sapphire Radeon HD 6850 Video Card - 1GB

Sony Optiarc DVDRW Drive - 24x
14 answers Last reply Best Answer
More about build advice
  1. consider a Seasonic S12II 520W ($59.99 at newegg) instead. It is able to handle two 6850s in crossfire, if needed, more than enough or just one
  2. Well also check out the Antec NeoEco 520w, same price as the SI2II but 15$ MIR and less shipping and handling fee.

Check out my site, it'd really be awesome it's down in my Siggy :D
    Hope it dits your budget.

Oh and air cooling is sufficent, the Hyper 212+ is a great deal on amazon. Two fans, free shipping and cheaper than newegg. Get it off me siggy site :D The 2500K can get to 4.6 on a stock cooler so I'm told.
  3. Great! Thanks for the info... much appreciated.

p.
  4. Quick question:

What do you think of the Antec EarthWatts EA650 650? It isn't NeoEco, but is 80+ rated and has some extra juice. Great price too.