cerozero

Distinguished
Apr 18, 2011
Hey, this is my first time posting here, so sorry if I posted in the wrong place but i have an annoying problem.
My fan is extremly loud most likely because it is running very fast but i can't tell what its rpm is because every program i've tried won't tell me its RPM. I have tried Speedfan, CPU-z, and Everst but none of them tell me my rpm. Any solutions? My friend gave me the computer saying it runs well but is extremely loud. The fan speed sometimes calms down and runs nice and smoothly without making any noise but most of the time it doesn't. It is so loud. I have cleaned the dust out many times and i just installed windows 7 but even before that it was loud. Its temperature is usually 44 degrees but the fan speeds up like crazy. Any ideas on how to slow it down? And if not, do you think if i bought a silent fan, it would make a difference?

Windows 7
Dimension 9150
Pentium D 830
3GB of ram
Nidec Fan(not sure exactly what kind) 120 mm ( i think)

Solution
You can get a fan with speed control like the Antec TriCool series fans. They come with a 3-stage speed setting and in sizes from 80mm and up (92mm included). They are relatively cheap, and VERY nice to have (I have two of them in my case, they're really not bad at all). They come with a wired remote slide switch that allows for fan speeds of 1500RPM (quiet computing), 2000RPM (meh? noise levels) and 2600RPM (blow-vac style wind movement at higher noise levels). Even at max RPM though the fan is rated at 30dB (without obstructions, obviously), so it's still not all that noisy as it may seem. In a closed case it's quite quiet.

cerozero

Distinguished
Apr 18, 2011