Sign in with
Your question

What's the best Z68 motherboard for this gaming build?

Last response: in Motherboards
December 24, 2011 3:38:27 PM

Hi all!

I have recently decided to build my own gaming computer (it won't only be used for games, but power intensive programming too.)

I am new to the forums and the overclocking world, however I have a lot of experience with computers and have put systems together in the past. It's about time I had a powerful desktop rig! I'm Currently just using my MacBook Pro for everything which isn't ideal.

Anyway, the components I'm considering for my build at the moment (advice/opinions on these would be appreciated too!) seem to be good value for money and well reviewed. I have no experience using the components I'm interested in, although I'm confident that most of them are quite appropriate for my requirements. The exception to this, due to it being slightly more subjective, is which motherboard to use. The current components I have on my list are as follows:

• Motherboard - Asus P8Z68-V PRO/GEN3
  • Processor - Intel core i5 2500k OR i7 2700k (the latter is less likely due to price constraints)
  • CPU cooler - Gelid Solutions Tranquillo Rev.2
  • Graphics card - XFX ATI Radeon 6950 HD
  • RAM - Corsair 16GB (4x4GB) 1600MHz CL9 DDR3 Vengeance Blu Memory Four Module Kit
  • Boot drive - 120GB SSD Corsair Force Series 3
  • Storage drive - Seagate Barracuda SATA III 1TB
  • Case - Corsair Obsidian Series 650D
  • PSU - currently undecided.

As I said, I'm quite confident the above components will provide a good price/power ratio and hopefully should allow for reasonable upgradeability and longevity. But, I just would really like to hear some of the more experienced members' opinions on whether the Asus motherboard above is the best choice to combine with the rest of that setup.

All responses will be very much appreciated and I hope to get some discussion going!

Last but not least, a very merry Christmas to you ALL! :)