Sign in with
Your question
Solved

I7 920 Temp

Last response: in CPUs
April 18, 2011 10:26:50 PM

I'm having some odd temp issues with a non overclocked i7 920 CPU with a stock cooler. At idle I get around 40-45, and under 100% load I get 95-100C. I've read around and can't really come up with a solution.

Before anyone asks, the cooler is seated properly, I'm positive.

I just reapplied thermal paste to see if that helped, and again before anyone asks, it was a pea size amount.

No there isn't any plastic in between, and I'm no novice to system building.

The fan is working, and at idle it's running at 60% speed, and 100% under load.

I'm using Core Temp and HWMonitor for my monitoring software.

Does anyone have any ideas what might be going on? I've reset my BIOS to defaults just to make sure there was no OC sleeping by me.

I don't have the money for a new cooler at the moment, and am looking for any other solutions people might offer.

Thanks.

More about : 920 temp

April 18, 2011 10:38:22 PM

1st - What does the BIOS say about idle temp?
2nd - Are you sure you don't have a negative air-pressure situation at the fan intake? i.e. Are all the fans near your CPU pulling air away, or a mix of fans pushing and pulling?
3rd - Is the fan blowing out of the case?
m
l
April 18, 2011 10:59:39 PM

1st: BIOS reports 45C and is blowing at 1483RPMs
2nd: Yes, I'm sure there is no airflow problems, two intake and two exhaust. Also, taking the side pannel off and letting the heatsink blow straight out and it will still hit 100C
3rd: 2nd should explain, but yes, two fans blowing out, one on top and one in the back.
m
l
Related resources
a b à CPUs
April 19, 2011 12:12:43 AM

What's your ambient (temp in your room) and what CPU cooler are you using? Stock? That still shouldn't go over 80C load at defaults.

Are you looking at core temps or CPUTIN? Sometimes the CPUTIN offset is wrong. You can manually adjust it on many motherboards.
m
l
April 19, 2011 1:09:18 AM

dalauder said: