Tags:
  • CPUs
  • Graphics Cards
  • Sandy Bridge
  • Intel i7
  • Intel i5
Last response: in CPUs
April 19, 2011 4:31:55 PM

Do I HAVE to use a graphics card with the unlocked sandy bridge i7/i5's (2500k/2600k) with a p67 chipset? I know I dont have to have a graphics card with a locked i5/i7 (2500/2600) sandybridge on an h67 chipset, and I know the unlocked version on a p67 is more powerfull, but all I have read makes it sound like the more powerfull setup requires a graphics card, compared to the less powerfull setup no requireing one.

Im trying to be budget conscience while still leaving my system open for future growth. the h67 MOBO's seem less capable in that regard.

Was hoping to setup a 2500k or 2600k with a p67 mobo and put off the gpu till later, but im not sure if that works or not. any help please would be great. this is my first build and its for personal use.

More about : intel sandy bridge graphics

a b à CPUs
April 19, 2011 4:36:52 PM

P67 does not have any capability of using the onboard graphics, so if you want to use them you must go H67. So yes, you MUST use a dedicated graphics card.

HOWEVER

Z68 is coming out May 8th and that's the "ultimate" chipset allowing you to do everything P67 can AS WELL as using the onboard graphics (as well as a few other things to boot).

To be honest though I have to ask the question why? If you want to overclock your CPU then surely you're not going to want to use the IGP (plus overclocking headroom will be reduced I should imagine if you're using the IGP as well - too much going on on one chip and that means added heat).

If you're not overclocking then there's no reason to get a K series CPU - OK, the IGP is better than the non-K but it's still low-end stuff.

H67 is less capable - no overclocking at all and RAM is restricted to 1333MHz with no ability to even change timings without an XMP profile (what I gather). Unless you're building a tiny, tiny system I've never seen the point behind H67.
m
l
a b à CPUs