Overclocking and ram?

treyvon

Distinguished
Dec 23, 2011
I'm new to some of the more advanced sections of hardware and computers so bear with me. I saw something earlier this week about overclocking and how ram is significant in your overclocking potential. Is this true? if not what then what is most important in overclocking?

Solution
The cooler master hyper 212 CPU cooler can get decent overclocks on Sandy bridge k edition CPUs p to around 4.3-4.4 GHz and only costs $20-30. It probably offers the best price/performance for any overclocking cooler because the much more expensive coolers still don't go to much higher than 5GHz, not quite as huge gain from 4.4GHz then going from 3.2/3.3/3.4GHz to 4.4GHz but the better coolers can cost over $60-120.

I use the hyper 212 on my overclocked AMD Phenom II 1090T and right now it's sitting at slightly over 4GHz with 6 cores and can probably go higher if I wanted to, but I added another 92mm fan to it for push/pull improved airflow.

For Sandy Bridge CPUs the memory is of less importance in getting high CPU overclocks because...

a4mula

Distinguished
Feb 3, 2009
It really depends on what microarchitecture you're overclocking with. On 1155 it makes virtually no difference because of the limited BCLK (base clock) flexibility.

On older systems like 1366 it could play a larger role because many times you relied on a high variance in BCLK to reach stable speeds. BCLK effects not only the cpu frequency but also memory frequency so if you were relying on high BCLKs your memory could very well get in the way.

If you are talking about Sandy Bridge then there's really only three main factors:

Chipset: H61 and H67 do not allow multiplier changes. P67 and Z68 do.

CPU: Only the K series cpus have unlocked multipliers. If you get a non-K cpu then you're pretty much capped at that 5% BCLK bump.