New RAM problems

wertwow

Distinguished
Sep 27, 2011
Just got new RAM for my computer (http://www.amazon.co.uk/gp/product/B004TKY59O) and tried to install it however, instead of the computer starting up, there are now only 3 beeps a pause and then a recurring 3 beeps. I've tried each RAM module separably and together in all 4 of the slots in my motherboard yet the problem still occurs. After this I tried the RAM I was using before again on its own yet the problem still recurred with this, any help would be much appreciated . This is my first time upgrading and I am worried I've done something wrong even though I took all the step.

My Motherboard is a ASUS® M4A79XTD EVO and my old RAM 4GB CORSAIR XMS3 DUAL-DDR3 1600MHz

You may have inadvertently loosened the video card when you pushed down on the motheroard putting in the new ram (it happens ) so I would power off the computer and remove the video card and then reseat it. See if that works.

wertwow

Distinguished
Sep 27, 2011

Thanks for the quick reply will try that

wertwow

Distinguished
Sep 27, 2011
Found the beep code, one continues beep followed by two short = no ram detected. Took all the ram out to test this and and got the same beeps so the problem is definitly in the RAM itself

Are you trying to put both Corsair and Crucial ram in together ? How many sticks of each brand do you have? The Corsair is 1.65v , 1600mhz ram and the Crucial is 1.5v 1333 mhz ram , they will not wotk together because they have to be the same exactly in order to work.

wertwow

Distinguished
Sep 27, 2011

that's what I did at first, but after the problem occurred I've tested each stick in each of the 4 slots on their own and still the same problem occurs.

wertwow

Distinguished
Sep 27, 2011

Missed this before I replied to your other post, this is probably what I need to do

wertwow

Distinguished
Sep 27, 2011