Your question
Closed

Can't install ATI drivers and run in Normal mode

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
November 24, 2010 4:43:42 PM

Hello,
Windows Vista sp2
ATI Radeon 3450/4350/4500 gpu
Everytime I install the ati drivers for any of the 3 cards I have the system will not load in normal mode. It eather BSOD or hangs on windows logo or black screen altogether. I have onboard graphics 3200 and I have tried to install the cards with and without onboard active. I have tried several ati display drivers. I can boot into safe mode with no problems and I can disable the graphics card in device manager and boot to normal mode. I have tried 3 different psu from 350w to 650w with the same problems. I am a college student and on a very lean budget to try to get this system up and running.

I am guessing at this point it isn't the graphics cards but perhaps my motherboard.

I started recieving the following error messages this morning while trying to boot to windows:

0x00000e9 and unexpected I/O error has occured

then

0x0000007B (0xF78D663C, 0xC0000034, 0x00000000, 0x00000000)

Nothing on my system seems to be working now. I have done the RAM test and it passes. I just don't have the money to replace everything on the computer to find out which thing is broken. Someone told me it could be the battery on my motherboard but not sure how to replace that or if it would cause so many problems with so much hardware.

I really need some imput on this. Anything would be appreciated :) 
Thank you
Ann
November 29, 2010 3:25:49 PM

Hi Ann,