Hi Guys, Newcomer here, I hope you guys can give me some feedback? :)

gamerjake

Distinguished
Apr 20, 2011
Hi Guys, I'm new here and I admit, I'm no expert on PC's. I just placed an order for a new PC, and although I know the rig isn't top notch as some of the configurations discussed here (some are pretty amazing!)

I'm hoping you guys can tell me if the choices I made according to my budget would enable me to have at least a decent experience and could satisfy basic tasks, home entertainment i.e Movies, Gaming etc. for at least the next year and half without needing major upgrades?

and if in the long run and if it would be possible or easier to upgrade according to my needs in the future? Sorry to trouble you guys if my question sounds really dumb and lame. I have a very limited budget atm and couldn't afford going for a i7 like I wanted to :(

But I think what I'm really trying to ask you guys is, is going for an i5 instead on an i7 going to severely impede me in the long run?

The Configuration is as follows:

-Intel Core i5 2400 - 3.10 GHz
-Intel M/Board - DH67BL
-G Skill DDRIII -1333 - 2GB x 02
-HDD - Samsung - SATA - 1TB
-Samsung LED 18.5" - BX19 Monitor
-Lite On SATA DVD/R+
-EVGA GTX460 - 1 GB

Thank You in Advance guys!

gamerjake

Distinguished
Apr 20, 2011

Thank you! You really put my mind at ease :) I asked about it and they (the guy at the store) said that the In-Win B2 Case comes with a True 750W Power Unit. I hope that means it would be what the system needs?

Thank you so much again for answering my question :)

gamerjake

Distinguished
Apr 20, 2011

Hi!

I managed to stretch my budget since I last posted, and I can (barely) shell out enough for a Core i7. But I came into a bit of a snag when it came to the motherboard :(