Sign in with
Your question

Building a budget system around an i7 950

Last response: in Systems
January 24, 2011 7:38:31 AM

Sorry, complete novice with regard to system building. Please contain any laughter my questions beg.

I have an i7 950 processor I need to build a system around.
I'm not looking to spend a bundle on it. I'd like to keep a certain amount of flexibility as to its future uses: maybe some light gaming, video playback etc.. Other than the processor, I have not purchased any other component yet.
My digging so far yielded the following:

Case: Antec Three Hundred
Motherboard: the cheapest socket 1366 board by either Asus or Gigabyte.
Graphics card: Ati Radeon HD4650 slim (more expensive) or full profile bracket.
Memory: 4 GB
HDD: some 500 GB drive.
DVD RW.
PSU: undecided.

My questions:
1. Can I install a full profile card in the Antec, what are the disadvantages and why does the slim profile cost more?
2. How much power will I need to, er, power this system?
3. Any other advice on components which will not send me on another spiral of confusion and uncertainty...

Thanks,
Guy
January 24, 2011 7:48:41 AM

The Is it possible for you to return the 950? Or is that a problem?

With SB out that should be what you want to build around. And to answer your questions.

1. No a full profile will fit in the Antec, low profile is mainly for things like workstations etc. Micro ATX cases.
2. Looking at about 400-500 watts. W/o overclocking
3. Well if you can return in, get the i5 2500K, cheaper and faster. With your thought of light gaming turn to the 4830 for 60$ @ Newegg. Look into my siggy for builds.

It looks like you don't exactly need a crazy expensive build, you could look at the 450$ build I just posted on my website. It's in my siggy. If you can return that 950, you'll probably save some cash doing the 450$ build on my site.
m
l
January 24, 2011 8:08:29 AM

SB out.
I'll check your suggested site.
Thanks.
m
l
January 24, 2011 3:11:26 PM

Gaaronsohn said: