Sign in with
Your question
Solved

High end gaming & photo/video editing system - ~$2K-$2,500?

Last response: in Systems
January 24, 2011 6:23:05 PM

Hi all -

I'm in the market for a new desktop system. To give you some background, I have a lot of experience building systems and replacing/upgrading hardware, but it's been years since I've bought or built a new desktop, so I'm way out of touch with some of the hardware out there. I've been doing a lot of research, but my head is spinning with all the choices out there as far as graphics cards, overclocking (something I have no experience with), etc...

Here's my questionnaire, let me know if you need any more info. Any advice on parts/options is appreciated!

Approximate Purchase Date: Will be ordering parts the first week or two in February.

Budget Range: $2,000-$2,500 USD, after rebates

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming (would like to play some older games maxed out (Battlefield 2, Half Life 2), play Flight Sim X with detailed graphics and smooth framerates, and be powerful enough to handle some of the new games coming out. Second function is an audio/video/photo editing workstation. For any high-end audio stuff I will have external devices, so any sound card selected only needs to be spec'd for gaming/listening to music. Plus the usual web browsing/MS Office/blah blah blah.

Parts Not Required: keyboard, mouse, monitor (but would still love to hear rec's for $1,000 and under widescreens you like), OS (have a license for W7 Pro 64bit from a dead laptop)

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Newegg, Amazon, etc...

Country of Origin: I'm in the US, don't care where the PC comes from :) 

Parts Preferences: by brand or type: Prefer Intel CPU. Want SSD OS volume, but heard I should wait until the new controllers are out...any idea when that will be?