$1K Build Advice for PSB Photo Editing- PC Noob

Status
Not open for further replies.

LudwigTrout

Distinguished
Jan 22, 2011
Approximate Purchase Date: This week

Budget Range: $1000-1200USD

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Image editing, web surfing (No gaming or video editing)

Parts Not Required: Keyboard, mouse, speakers, monitor

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: No preference, based in Southern California so local access to Micro Center, Fry's

Parts Preferences: Must be compatible with at least one 27" Apple Cinema Display, ideally two

Overclocking: Maybe, no experience with it but I tend to tinker with what's in front of me

SLI or Crossfire: No

Monitor Resolution: 2560x1440

Additional Comments: I need to put together a system for editing large photo collage art projects (eg, very high resolutions, hundreds of layers, unusually large print sizes, several 10-20GB PSB projects open simultaneously). I've been using Macs for the last ten years.

After reading through reviews and forums over the weekend I started pricing the following system:

Intel Core i7-2600K 3.40 GHz Quad-Core Unlocked CPU
***Overkill? Thoughts?

GIGABYTE GA-P67A-UD3 LGA 1155 Intel P67 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX Intel Motherboard
***See video card notes below

OCZ Vertex 2 OCZSSD2-2VTX160G 2.5" 160GB SATA II MLC Internal Solid State Drive (SSD)
***Is this overkill for a main drive running primarily Windows 7 and CS5? Woefully unfamiliar with Windows

Western Digital Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500GB 7200 RPM 32MB Cache SATA 3.0Gb/s 3.5" Internal Hard Drive
***Not necessarily a WD, but something along these specs. 7200Rpm/32Mb, overkill? Do I need to worry about cooling for a single 7200?

SAPPHIRE Toxic 100315TXSR Radeon HD 6850 1GB 256-bit GDDR5 PCI Express 2.0 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card with Eyefinity