What should i do about this situation i have myself in? Buying an X79

themadhatta

Distinguished
Jul 18, 2011
Christmas has arrived and with all my saving and the money i received from xmas and some other holidays i now have more than enough to make myself a super gaming computer.

I already have 2 590 GTX cards
a Corsair 1200AX power supply
an Intel Core i7-3960X LGA 2011 CPU
a nice 6 gig HDD and 6 sticks of Corsair's PC3-12800 1600MHz 240-Pin DDR3 RAM leaving me with 12 gigs of ram.

As for the motherboard im interested in an x79 LGA 2011 motherboard.
I checked out ASUS and then checked out GIGABYTE for their mobos. It seemed like the best one available was the GA-X79-UD7.
What do you guys think is the best X79 mobo for my setup on the market right now?

The 2 best boards i found were the GA-X79-UD7 and the G1.Assassin 2. I believe both of these are better than the asus Rampage IV Extreme X79 mobo, but i may be wrong. Im still new to understanding all the technical aspects. I dont have a problem putting stuff together, but finding the right parts is very new to me.

I also saw an SKT-2011 GA-X79-UD7 for sale before newegg had the GA-X79-UD7 LGA-2011 in stock. Is there a difference between those two mobos?

lemlo

Distinguished
Feb 16, 2010
Don't go with gigabyte. Besides the story ebola28 linked, I use a p67 for my 2600k since sandy was introduced and have had a lot of issues. Boot looping etc, and it is inherent with way too many users of all types of their boards. Not to mention they just about give up on bios updates and have had to rely on some great enthusiasts (thanks stasio!!) for upgrading to a better bios. Gonna stick by it until ivy-e comes out but if I had known it was so flaky I would have remained with my i7 870 with my asus ws board. Or perhaps gone with an asus 1155 ws board or something.

I've had great luck with asus and msi over the past 2-3 years with a few different builds. You may want to give them a shot.

themadhatta

Distinguished