Sign in with
Your question

[Solved]New Build - Motherboard lights up, fans spin but will not boot

Last response: in Systems
January 26, 2011 4:47:52 PM

[Solved]
So after getting some feeback from all of you (specifically clarkjd thanks!) i went to Microcenter and had them run some tests on my motherboard, processor and ram. The tests were good and they were able to get it to POST. So then i tried a different PSU the store provided and viola then systemed booted no problem.

I then exchanged my Antec TruePower 650 Supply for a new one, and the system still wouldn't post. So for whatever reason the TruPower PSU just doesn't play nice with the DP67BG motherboard. I then picked up a Corsair GS600 PSU and everything worked perfect. I went home setup everything and now my system is running as smooth as butter. Thanks to you all.

I'm a first time computer builder and recently put my computer together. When i press the power button the system will not boot. The motherboard lights up and the fans spin but i hear no beeps. There is a LCD screen on the motherboard that reads "00" and does not change. My optical drive has power and open and closes, and i believe my HDD is spinning.

This is a new system so i have not changed the BIOS or anything (the system has never booted). I troubled shooted with my local Microcenter and came to the conclusion that maybe it was a defective part. So i went out and got a replacement processor, motherboard, and graphics cards. Once i received the replacement parts i assembled the computer again, and i have the exact same problem. Below is my system specs:

Intel i7 - 2600 processor
Intel DP67BG Motherboard
4 sticks of Ballistix 2GB DDR3-1600 1.65 Volts -----Total of 8gb of RAM
NVIDIA GeForce GTS 450 Graphics Card
Stock CPU cooler came with the processor
Antec TruePower TP-650 650W Power Supply
Western Digital Caviar Blue WD5000AAKX 500GB 7200 RPM SATA 6.0Gb/s
Crucial RealSSD C300 CTFDDAC064MAG-1G1 SATA 6.0Gb/s
Antec Three Hundred Case