Gigabyte gtx 460 super overclock problem

syg

Distinguished
Nov 28, 2010
Hi guys,

I made my purchase recently of my new graphics card and PSU unit. I went with the advice of the shop I bought the card and the PSU from, scan.co.uk. Anyway, I bought the Gigabyte GTX460 super overclocked card, and a 500w Corsair PSU to replace my existing 450w, because the shop assured me that would be enough to power the new card and my PC, etc.

Anyway today after getting everything installed from a qualified technician I started playing a few games to test the new card, obviously expecting it to dramatically out do the gt230 I previously had, and guess what, it didn't and there's some serious issues going on with it, in every game it isn't rendering textures at all sometimes, it doesn't render into the distance at all even on games like Oblivion, etc. It sometimes just goes into one big blurred mess.

The screen also flickers and stutters the games. Everything works fine for like browsing the web, etc, anything that doesn't require too much from the graphics card, but as soon as I play a game it all starts going really wrong.

Now surely the shop wouldn't recommend me a PSU that isn't sufficient enough, but after doing an online test with my overall PC specifications I was advised a PSU for at least 585w, so I'm hoping the problem lies within the PSU and that if I change to a 600w model that the problem should be fixed, would that make sense and could this be the case?

My computers specs are as follows:

HP Pavillion Elite 063
i7 860 2.8 ghz
8 GB ram
2x TB Hard Drive
Windows 7 64 bit home premium

I'm really, really disappointed and upset, and so frustrated because this shouldn't be happening and I should be getting very good performance from this card as it is capable of some pretty high end graphics. I would appreciate anybodies help greatly.

Do you think I have been advised wrong and have ended up buying a too low of a watt PSU?