slashxcode

Distinguished
Apr 24, 2011
Hi, this is my first time building (hackintosh no less) and I'm trying to choose between two (somewhat different) cases. I just want one that will make my first time building go smooth/is easy to work with since I'm new.

Either the:
Antec 300 or NZXT Phantom (http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B003WE9WQO/ref=ox_sc_act_title_1?ie=UTF8&m=ATVPDKIKX0DER)

I don't really care about design (although the phantom looks great, I like the antec too). The only thing I'm worried about for building is the fan setup. I just want something with a good built in fan system that won't require too much tinkering on my part. So would either of these work better, or is there another suggestion that better fits my needs (i like the pre-built fan controls on the NZXT as well).

Also, I'm thinking of getting an i7 960 and avoiding overclocking if possible, but OC'ing cheaper 950 is tempting.

Here are my planned specs:
Case - Antec 300 or NZXT Phantom or?
Processor - i7 950 3.06 ghz or i7 960 3.2 (I would feel more comfortable clocking w/the nzxt case)
Mobo - GA-X58A-UD3R
GPU - Radeon 5770
PSU: Corsair CMPSU-650TX 650
Ram - Corsair 6 gb
HDD: Western Digital Caviar Blue 500 gb x2
CPU Heatsink: Hyper 212
Optical: lite-on

slashxcode

Distinguished
Apr 24, 2011
Graphic design and gaming (maybe fifty fifty there). Honestly I'm bioth crazy excited and scared to death of the building, but I'm more worried about diagnosing any problems myself (but you have to start somewhere, right?). I'm close to getting lazy and saying f'it and getting a dell 8300 but I'm trying to resist.

slashxcode

Distinguished
Apr 24, 2011
Thanks for the buildup. Like I said, the only things worrying me are fan setup and diagnosing any future problems. I'm coming from an imac that I felt got WAY too hot so ventilation is important to me. It's too bad apple doesn't have a more attractively priced mac pro model.