Sign in with
Your question

First Build Critique 2.0

Last response: in Systems
January 27, 2011 6:15:04 PM

A few day's ago I posted on the board about a build I wanted to make because this is my first time building a computer and wanted some feedback on it.I recieved some great feedback and made some changes based on it and am posting again for more advice and feedback if all the parts are compatible.

Aslo I want to thank anyone who takes time to comment and give advice and analogize if I put too much stuff to read.

Approximate Purchase Date: Middle to end of february

Budget Range: $750 before rebates and excluding GPU.

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Games, Movies,Videos, Internt, Homework

Parts Not Required: Os, Monitor,

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Newegg.com

Country of Origin: US west Coast

Parts Preferences: I'm new to building so I have no preffered.

Overclocking: Yes but not extreme overclocking.

SLI or Crossfire: Maybe in the future.(

Monitor Resolution: 1920 x 1080 Will be using Acer Monitor

Additional Comments:
I don't need "bling" on my computer and I prefer performance over looks.

I don't know the difference it makes but the games I looking to play are MMORPG's like WoW and Diablo 3. I play shooting games like COD and BBC 2 on either Ps3 or Xbox 360 so those are games I wont play on here.

The budget is without rebates because I don;t know if they will go through and am thinking of them as a bonus if they go through.

Overall i want this to be a computer that will last a while and am planning on upgrading parts as the years go by if i need more memory or will use SlI.

CPU
i5 2500k

Motherboard
ASRock P67 Extreme4

GPU I have a budget for the GPU because it seemed more important and also to be more of a concen in my previous thread.I already have two in mind but dont know which is better. I don't want a GPU to be more more than $210.

This is a comparison from Newegg

RAM
G.SKILL 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 1600