Sign in with
Your question

Prebuilt looking for upgrades.

Last response: in Systems
January 27, 2011 6:16:36 PM

Hello, I am looking to maybe upgrade my video card to a EVGA GTX 570.

I currently have a :

Intel core 2 quad q9550 2.83ghz
socket 775 lga
dell opp150 motherboard 1333 fsb
dell 750 psu
4 gb corsair dominator ddr2 dual channel ram
nvidia geforce gtx 280 video card
windows 7 home premium

I am wondering if this GTX 570 will work and boost performance or if I can or should look at other spots in my system to improve. Specifics are helpfull as I am new to all of this. I mostly play games on this machine like DCUO and RIFT. Thank you for any help

More about : prebuilt upgrades

January 27, 2011 6:21:57 PM

The RAM is fair.
Q9550 is good still.
Motherboard isn't the best, but don't know all the specifics.
That PSU isn't very good, I think you should get a good Corsair, OCZ, Seasonic or XFX.
OS is fine.

Sorry but I don't know what RIFT is or DCUO, please tell.
Also, the GTX280 is hardly outdated just yet, if you're sure you want to upgrade then I personally think the GTX460 or 560 would be the better choice for your needs.
m
l
January 27, 2011 6:23:05 PM

A new card would help; also do you have a 64bitwindows? If so you could stick in more ram.
Otherwise your system is plenty fast enough.
Might be wise to reinstall windows if you're still not happy (don't know how long it's been since the last time but prebuilt systems can have allot of crap on them).

EDIT: I'm also not sure about the psu please check if it has enough connectors to support the new card.
otherwise it might not be the best but if it can handle the nvidia card I see no need to upgrade it.
Also try reading some reviews as to decide what card to choose.
m
l
Related resources
January 27, 2011 6:47:02 PM

Mrsh4dy said:
A new card would help; also do you have a 64bitwindows? If so you could stick in more ram.
Otherwise your system is plenty fast enough.