Sign in with
Your question
Solved

First time builder Looking for feedback on parts list

Last response: in Systems
January 28, 2011 2:04:13 AM

I'm a first time builder planning on building within the next few months.

Budget Range: Under $700 (not counting Op Sym - Windows 7)

System Usage: Some gaming, but mostly lots of CS5 Photoshop (I'm an artist), web surfing and watching movies.

Parts Not Required: Keyboard, mouse, monitor, speakers

Wasn't planning on SLI / Crossfire but thought I'd give overclocking a try. Here's what I was considering...

CPU: AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition $165

Motherboard: -GIGABYTE GA-870A-UD3 $99

Memory: G.SKILL Ripjaws Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3 1333 - $85

Case / Power Supply: Antec Sonata III Mid Tower w / 500W PS - $120

Graphics Card: HIS H577FK1GD Radeon HD 5770 1GB - $130

Hard Drive: SAMSUNG 1TB SATA 3.0Gb/s - $60

Optical Drive: Lite-On iHAS424 DVD burner - $26

Total price, not counting Misc shipping is right at $685. I think it's a good config, but being new to this I don't know what I don't know. I'm especially interested in feedback regarding any additional cooling fans (CPU or Case), tools, screws, cables and so on that I may need to take into account.

Thanks for any and all feedback. This is a great forum.
January 28, 2011 2:08:27 AM

Sounds decent to me, the black edition will help if you want to squeeze more performance out of it
m
l

Best solution

January 28, 2011 2:48:54 AM

It looks good to me, though I am definitely not an expert. I would like to point something out, though I'm sure you've already considered it.