Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Upgrading CPU on MCP61PM-HM

Last response: in CPUs
April 26, 2011 10:14:36 AM

I have a Compaq Presario SR5507f, with a MCP61PM-HM MoBo. The current CPU is an AMD Athlon X2 4050e Dual-Core 2.1ghz. Over time i have been playing more games than I previously expected so i wanted to upgrade some. I have already upgraded my PSU to a Thermaltake 500w PSU, and my graphics card to a GeForce GT220. I was wanting to replace my CPU and get a better one. After researching some I don't think the one I really wanted would work, although it is the same socket type. But I thought I would pass it buy some of you that do this all the time. This is my first time replacing a CPU, or ANY major component for that matter.
The CPU I had my eye on was this AMD PhenomII X4 940(BE).
I was also looking at getting a second hard drive but i didn't see a second SATA slot on my MoBo. So I was also wondering if this would be possible. If you could take a look at my MoBo specs, and give a response.

again my current specs are;

Motherboard: MCP61PM-HM
CPU: AMD Athlon X2 4050e Dual-Core 2.10 GHz
PSU: Thermaltake 500w
Graphics card: GeForce GT220

Let me know if more info is needed, thanks.

More about : upgrading cpu mcp61pm

Best solution

a c 159 à CPUs
a b U Graphics card
April 26, 2011 10:28:20 AM