Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Too Much Thermal Paste

Last response: in CPUs
April 28, 2011 9:45:17 AM

Hi, I am a beginner and I'm having this problem hope i can get some help >_>
i applied too much thermal paste on the cpu and when i install the cpu cooling fan few paste leak on the side edge of the socket(not sure if it got under the cpu-pins)cause i'm afraid if i removed the cpu fan and check it will leak on the pins or motheboard.

i notice after i tight up the cpu fan. i manage to get off some from the side hole, but there still some. the PC can boot up and stay at 23-40c. is it fine if i leave it as that, will it cause any long-term issue?

Should i remove the fan and clean everything up?
and if theres some paste in the socket am i able to use Thermal material Remover & Surface Purifier on the motherboard/socket/cpu pin to clean up with?

This is where the paste leak at

More about : thermal paste

a b à CPUs
April 28, 2011 10:18:37 AM

Just remove the heatsink and clean all paste off cpu without removing cpu, then clean the heatsink, then re-apply paste on to cpu but only a little about the size of a grain of rice, then use an old credit card to evenly spread out the paste across the surface area of the cpu.
m
l
April 28, 2011 10:28:23 AM

Hmm what happen if there still some paste in the edge like leak down into the socket where i cant clean off? should i then remove the cpu clean the whole socket?

i did some research about this(but im not sure if im able to use this on the cpu-pin/motherboard socket,pins)
i wanna try prepare all the item i might need before i start doing it.
sorry for asking too much >>

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...
m
l
Related resources
Can't find your answer ? Ask !
April 28, 2011 11:15:22 AM