Case fans not working when molex cable connected to mobo

trispir

Distinguished
Jan 3, 2012
I am a first time computer builder and working on my first build. I was able to boot up with the cpu and ram hooked up to the mobo outside of the case. I then installed the components inside the case and attempted to hook up the case fans. My case has 4 fans, and I plugged them all into one of the molex cable and then into the mobo. I was unable to boot up. I then unplugged the molex cable from the chassis fan header on the mobo, and the mobo booted just fine.

The peripheral cables and fan connections are 4 pin, and the chassis fan header on the mobo is 3 pin. My case has knobs and adjustments that I can control the fan speed from the outside of the case so I imagine that i will be able to regulate the speed manually. I'm guessing that a disadvantage to not connecting the cable to the mobo, is that I can't monitor their RPM's? Do I have to connect the end of the molex cable to the chassis fan connection on the mobo for the fans to function properly or can I just give them power and leave the end of the cable unplugged?

Motherboard: ASRock z68 Extreme 3 Gen3
CPU: i5-2500k Intel 1155
Corsair 750TX 750W
Case: Antec Nine Hundred Two V3

trispir

Distinguished
Jan 3, 2012
Bump! Almost 50 views and no reply. I need to know if I can leave the end of the molex cables unplugged from the mobo. The fans are powered and functional, even though the end of the cable is not connected to the fan header on the mobo. Is this ok?

myowaiwin

Distinguished
Jun 6, 2010
there was an article about the cooling including fan connection and placements on toms recently.

for me, the only reason to connect fan to mobo is for fan speed control (to reduce speed when not need to become quieter and to speed fan up when casing is heat up)

if the pc is working correctly with no tmep issue and also no noice issue, it's ok for u.