danport

Distinguished
Jul 26, 2009
I want to stop paying for satellite tv and use internet, netflix, hulu, etc. for home entertainment. I am thinking that a dedicated Home Theater pc would be better than a roku.
I am not an expert, but I have built about a dozen home systems over the years, so I am comfortabe with a home build.
I am looking for advice on a homebuilt system for home theater, for streaming netflix, capable of high definition.
I have internet access available at 3, 5, and 10 mbps.
What level of components do I need for this application, such as what cpu, how much ram, and how much video card. Perhaps you have specific recommendations for a build.
I apologize if this has been recently addressed, and would appreciate any recommendations or directing me to another thread.
Thanks,
Dan

damasvara

Distinguished
Jul 20, 2010
A mere dual core CPU, 4GB RAM, and a low power, low profile, low heat (passively cooled if applicable) GPU are the main components that you will need.

With that being said, An Athlon II X2, a single piece of 4GB RAM (2 x 2GB dual channel preferably, yet not mandatory), and an HD5570 are the parts that fits your criteria for budget.

Since you're using it as a replacement for your satellite TV, I assume HD contents are not your main concern. Thus, eliminates Bluray and HD audio bitstreaming features.

HTPC is usually about mini-ITX case and motherboard, remote control, and low power consumption for 24-7 usage and/or idle. At least that's what I heard from the guys who build them :lol: These considerations should be taken into your account. Although they're not the main factor.

Good luck!

freakqnc

Distinguished
Sep 25, 2009
Would anyone care to add to this?