Sign in with
Your question
Closed

Buying Guide for Highend Professional Uses

Last response: in CPUs
April 30, 2011 4:26:27 PM

I am going to buy one high end pc for 3D Mechanical CAD Modeling, 3D Architectural Modeling, Architectural Rendering and Walkthrough, Video Editing, Gaming. I am a resident of Kolkata, India.

I also want to connect an additional monitor in future (optional)

Please suggest me from the following, But if you want to refer something which is not their in my list please feel free to recommend. I have mention the pricing of kolkata reseller.
1) Processor + Motherboard
a) AMD Phenom II 1100T BE + Asus M4A88TD M EVO (334 $)
or
b) Intel Core i7 960 + Asus P7H55 M (364 $)
or
c) Intel Core i7 2600 K + Asus P8H667 M (450 $)

(I feel Asus is best when compared to Intel original / MSI/Gigabyte. What is your opinion?)

2. Memory
a) Kingston 1333 FSB - 4 X 4 GB (40 $ X 4)
or
b) Kingston Hyper 1600 FSB - 4 X 4 GB (60 $ X 4)

3. Display Card (Saphire / Asus / MSI / Gigabyte / Zotac / Palit / XFX)
a) ATI Raedon 5670 - 1 GB (120 $)
or
b) ATI Raedon 5770 - 1 GB (140 $)
or
c) ATI Raedon 5870 - 1 GB (190 $)
or
d) Nvidia Geforce GT450 - 1 GB (140 $)
or
e) Any Other Geforce / Raedon Card

4) SMPS (Cooler master / Zebronics / iball / Crosshair)
a) 450 W (50 $)
or
b) 500 W
a b à CPUs
April 30, 2011 4:40:16 PM

1)c 2)a 3)gtx 570 4)600w
Score
a c 158 à CPUs
April 30, 2011 5:23:10 PM

The i7 2600k outperforms the 960 and 1100 especially when overclocked. But if you're going to overclock you would need a p67 mobo. You cannot change ram speed on h67 so get 1333 but if you get p67, 1600 is the sweet spot for price/performance. CPU software renderers still seem to be the best right now so the graphics card will only really apply to gaming, unless you're in fact using a hardware renderer. What graphics card you get will decide what psu you will need to get. I think a 5770 would be good with a good 550w seasonic, corsair, or antec psu.
Score
Related resources
a b à CPUs