Sign in with
Your question

Need advice on CPU installation.

Last response: in CPUs
May 2, 2011 8:01:23 PM

So I ordered me some parts to upgrade my PC, though it's more of an overhaul then an upgrade. I'm replacing my motherboard, CPU, PSU, video card, RAM and a couple of case fans. I've never built a PC before, though I am confident that I'll have no serious problems with most of the process. The only thing that I'm really worried about is mounting the CPU.

I would really like some advice and important tips when going about CPU installation. Are there things I should be aware of when holding it and positioning it? How much is too much pressure when locking it in? That kinda stuff...

Some info. It'll be an Intel core i7 2600 and I'll be installing it on a Gigabyte ga-p67a-ud4 motherboard.
a b à CPUs
a b V Motherboard
May 2, 2011 8:19:10 PM

Here's a tip, read the directions that come with it. Then if you get stuck and can't figure it out, come here and ask your question.

Don't ask for instructions on how to install something when you haven't even read the directions that came with it, that's called laziness.
May 2, 2011 8:25:17 PM

Some stuff you don't get in the instructions. Real life experience from people is very valuable info to have beforehand.
I don't appreciate your presumption that I would go about the installation of something this important without reading the instructions.
Related resources
May 2, 2011 8:26:46 PM

If you read both the instructions in the CPU box, and in the motherboard manual it should be able to provide you with all the information you need. They are quite pictoral as well too, so you should be able to figure it out.

The first time I mounted a CPU I was a bit nervous as well, but really there is nothing to it. The only pressure that is required is pulling the arm back to lock it into place and there isn't really the ability to do it "too hard".