Questions about Dell desktop PSU / GPU upgrade

G

Hi,

I have ordered a Dell Vostro desktop (spec below) which I want to use for a bit of gaming, initially through a 1080p plasma TV.

Vostro 460 : Standard Base
Processor : Intel Core I5-2500 (3.3GHz, 6MB)
Memory : 4096MB (2x2048) 1333MHz
Hard Drive : 1TB (7200RPM)
Optical Drive : 16X DVD +/-RW Drive
Graphics Card : 1GB ATI Radeon HD 5450
Operating System : English Genuine Windows 7 Professional (32 BIT)

My original intention was to immediately to add a Radeon HD 6950 2Gb and then a bit further down the line install Win7 64 and some more memory.

The issue is that the PC only comes with a 350 watt PSU, and the 6950 will need up to 200 of that, so I was also going to replace the PSU with a 600 or 700 watt Corsair gaming one, which is where the confusion has set in.

I've read online and been told by one of the Tech Guys at PC World (who I was going to get to fit the new PSU as I've never done it before) that Dell often use their own spec components, and that I would have to upgrade with another Dell PSU, however, I've also read that Dell switched to generic components a few years ago meaning that I could just use a Corsair if I want.

Does anyone know which of these is correct (the PC hasn't arrived yet so I can't check)?

Secondly, I've read elsewhere that the new system (minus the GPU) will only max out at about 100 watts power usage, meaning that I might be able to install a new GPU without replacing the PSU.

Does this sound likely?

If it is, then I may just add a less power hungry card (either a 108 watt HD 5770 1GB or a 127 watt HD 6850 which should be fine as long as I don't invest in a higher resolution screen) and keep the existing PSU.

Might either of these be a realistic option (I would prefer the 6850 out of the two)?

I have looked on sites which estimate the size of the PSU that you need for a set system and the results seem to vary a fair deal or seem quite imprecise.