Sign in with
Your question

GA-X58A-OC instability issues - geeeez

Last response: in Motherboards
January 6, 2012 11:09:56 AM

I am getting really fed up Gigabyte or Intel products. I am the novice and conservative builder, and in the last 3 months have been experiencing media performance nightmares. The last great system build was 5 months ago building an 1100T AMD and MSI board at 16gb. Unfortunately I overclockedeathed the CPU and had my investors purchased another system which came to be a G1.Guerilla with 990x and a vengeance 24gb kit. Worked great for 4 months, but in my opinion the 1100T worked apps and windows faster. Perhaps because the G1 guerilla is gaming board whereas I am an hd video editor using after effects and premiere cs5 strictly. My video card was a gtx590 and I upgraded to an quadro 2000 card. The g1 couldn't recognize at all during boot. In fact no system boot started at all, no bios run protocol just blank with the CPU led on constant. Being fed up I went to rind a rampage gene iii and now they are hard to find with all these new processor generations out. So I had to get a x58a-OC because it's the only main board around here Istanbul to support 24gbmem and 990x. I just want to work and edit! I have no OC features turned on whatsoever. I have done almost all the win 7 ultimate updates and the windows load screen almost always lags I have to restart it. I'm just so frustrated. I have a feeling that if I install a regular sata3 7200 rpm drive in a 3gbs port everything will be fine, but I'm under the impression that my current 6gbs corsair gt 120gb on port 7 Marvell is fine. Help!
a c 123 V Motherboard
January 6, 2012 12:54:00 PM

I would suggest you run memtest86+ To ensure that much ram is stable.

Did you manually set the memory timings/voltage? It may be worth seeing if it is stable with just 1 stick installed.

You should be able to boot fine off the Marvell controller. Did you install the latest marvel drivers from gigabyte?