ultascience

Distinguished
May 3, 2011
Hello,

I am a scientist and I have to process huge 3d datasets and build very large molecular models from the data. This is a tremendous workload for CPUs, and rendering images and movies of the data and models really strains the GPU. I would like to build a ridiculous machine with 12-24 (or more!) fast processor cores, at least 2 very high end GPUs in crossfire or SLI mode, and at least 24 Gb of RAM. Can anyone suggest a build that would do this? Performance is all that matters (i.e. cost is not an issue).

Thanks,
Peter

Solution
OK this is beyond my knowledge and you most likely already know more than me but what I can tell you is:
Nvidias best gaming card is the 580 and 2 of them in SLi is some serious muscle. They also do professional series cards which may or may not be more suited to your use this is an example of a very high end one http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814133347 thay also do something called Tesla 20 series GPUs which I have no idea what they are really but they have alot more memory than gaming cards see http://www.nvidia.co.uk/page/personal_computing.html .
As for the CPU I think a server chip is most likely what you need and I have no idea about them. If a highend desktop CPU is more sorted then it has to be...
Intel makes 10 core 20 thread processors and AMD make 12 Core CPUs. I would suggest you speak to the makers of the software you want to use as it may be optimised for certain hardware especially the GPUs. Also you say cost is not an issue do you want to spend <$5000 on a huge powerful tower or a server or >$1,000,000 on some sort of super computer

ultascience

Distinguished
May 3, 2011

Simon,