Sign in with
Your question

Comments on home built ent/gaming rig

Last response: in Systems
February 4, 2011 7:29:31 AM

Hi everyone. I'm new to Tom's Hardware,

A lot of searches turned me to this site. I used to build my own computers 10 years ago, but only recently decide to try it again. I live in South Korea and can't find a PC with English OS and configuration that I want so I'm gonna give it another go. Below is what I've decided to put together and would like any advice or even flames for my suggestion ( getting flamed is ok if it saves me from making a stupid mistake^^). I'm following a form from this site

Approximate Purchase Date: September 2011 (getting bonus from work them).

Budget Range: I wanna keep it under 800,000 won with software (about $800USD), not including cost of LCD HD TV I'm planning to couple it with.

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Movies, TV, work (MS office) and games.

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: www.enuri.com (Korean site, but more convinient because it's local). I also leave handy to a huge electronics market that specializes in computer components (3 story warehouse/building.

Country of Origin: I'm living in Korea, but I'm Canadian. I've been living/working here for 6 years

Parts
1. Case: Thermal Lake Armor A30 (gaming cube case). I like the looks, good size and has frint USB3 port in front.
2. Processor: Can't decide between AMD Phenom ii X4 or X6. Not an AMD fanboy, but the price is right. Probably be using the cooler it comes with.
3. Mobo: AsRocks X880GMH-LE/USB3. Chose it because I saw in a site with the A30 case, but could use some input in if it's a good choice or not.
4. RAM: 8G of DDR3 (PC3-10600). Two 4G sticks.
5. Graphics Card: Something in the Radeon 5800 range. I'm planning to hook it up to a 36~42inch HD LCD TV and want to watch movies, internet TV and play games (ex.Fallout, Dragon age, Lineage 2, Never Winter nights 2)