mrsmarts5000

Distinguished
May 3, 2011
Hey guys, I'm kinda new to the works of computers, and this has probably been asked before. My main question is, would it be better to upgrade from a single core(Celeron D[Yeah, I know it's old]) to a Core 2 Duo, or go with something else, say newer tech, though I am on a budget. I'm not looking to spend any more than $600-$700. Also, my primary uses will be web browsing, multi-tasking, and gaming. Your adice would be great guys!!

I recommend
an Amd build with your budget
using the Athlon x 3 445 Rana

I am not an AMD guy but I respect them
and that CPU is highly regarded as a best budget CPU

also a I3 Sandybrige is about $125 for cpu
so a $700 build might be possible
especially if you can reuse parts from old build
(case,psu,optical drives etc)

there is a system builders section on Toms
where they LOVE to put together parts lists for systems
You need to follow the guideline for posting in sticky at top of forum.

Good Luck

G

If you're on an lga 775 platform, it's still not that old or bad... you could get a decent quad or duo for that motherboard

if budget was real tight under $200 then Id say upgrade the CPU
in current build
a good Core2Duo can be had for 100

but with a $700 budget than it makes more
sense to reuse what OP can and do new build

I love LGA775 but the socket is dead

with a AM3+ (?) or 1155 build there is a good upgrade
path while witht the LGA775 in a year or two the OP
is looking to have to do upgrades or new build even
with new CPU

Though if all OP does is email,browse etc than
a 3ghz C2D would be more than powerful enough
for awhile

mrsmarts5000

Distinguished
May 3, 2011
Wow! Quick responses. Well, it seems like you guys are either saying upgrade for the time the socket has left, before it's really outdated, or just upgrade now to something newer. I personally like Intel, but it seems that AMD also has a very good CPU for an excellent price.