New to networking

hotctyplaya24

Distinguished
Jun 30, 2004
Hey guys. I am new to networking and would like to know some things. I have a cable modem and need to set up a network between 2 computers that are in different rooms on the same floor. I care about security and speed. I have 2 desktops to network together.
I dont know what I actually need to set up a network. I heard all you need are 2 adapter cards and a router. If that is true, what types should I get? Can anyone recommend types or a site that guides me? Also, do computers come with the networking adapter card so I can check if i have one?
I dont even know whether I should get a wired or wireless. Any tips on that?

Thanks!<P ID="edit"><FONT SIZE=-1><EM>Edited by hotctyplaya24 on 12/19/04 08:59 PM.</EM></FONT></P>

dns1980

Distinguished
Dec 21, 2004
Hi,man.
You can use either a wired or wireless.

Using the wired is cheaper, but the cables are really annoying sometimes.

You can also build a wireless LAN, but the adapter is much more expensive than the wired one.

Two adapters and a router can build your network in either way.

You can check here to find out what you want:

http://www.pcwcomponentcentre.co.uk/

blah

Distinguished
Dec 31, 2007
If the PCs are normal PCs and are not moved often, go wired, best for speed and security. You need just a router (which can be wireless for the future considerations). Get any type that you like (based on loox, feels, taste or smell of money left in your pocket), they all based on the same technology. So the cheapar the bettar (in some cases, some restrictions apply;o)

PS: you can check if PCs have NICs in them by looking on the back pannel of the PC and see if there is a thing which loox like phone jack but a little bigger (wider) than the phone one. Or if you have network cable, try all the holes on the back of the PC and if you can stick it into one of them then you have a NIC, and if you can't find the place to stick it in, then there is no NIC in your PC.