I have a static discharge now my computor wont boot

wasp

Distinguished
Dec 6, 2010
hi ,
i was cleaning the inside of my computor ,this i have done before ,only this time a friend told me to use a vacume cleaner to get rid of dust .
i have never used this method before ,but was told it is the best way .
now when i turned on computor it will not boot ,monitor is black screen ,
and i can hear fan on but no beep or boot at all .i have an amd athlon duel core vista home prem 3 yrs old .

Tamz_msc

Distinguished
In that case, something is fried, but its difficult to pinpoint exactly what has gone wrong.Unless you have spare components, get the entire PC checked by a technician.

wasp

Distinguished
Dec 6, 2010
thanks .
1st visit to pc world ,2nd visit to so called freind..
i thought that ,s what you would say ,just cant belive i let him convince
me it was okay ,gone against every thing i have done in past .
thanks for your reply .

wasp

Distinguished
Dec 6, 2010
hi daship,
yeah found that out now ,have never done it before always cleaned
as you said .
any idea of what has actually happened ?.

microterf

Distinguished
Feb 19, 2009
The capacitors still have electric in it when it's unplugged. You fried something. Kill your friend. They do make static free vacuums, but expensive I believe.

The above poster must not be very bright, the esd likely did damage your machine to ware you may have to replace it or if lucky swap out the damaged parts such as board ect. The psu is working but do you hear the hard drive working at all as if it is you will be able to recover the data on it.

Remove the button cell battery and wait 30-60seconds and put it back then try the machine again. If you are lucky it might start up but if it does not you are out of luck. Never use a vac to clean a machine. As for your friend make him/her pay for the damages.

microterf

Distinguished
Feb 19, 2009