Gtx 480 upgrade install help :D

wilsamacgilsa

Distinguished
Feb 18, 2010
Hey i want to upgrade my gts 250 to a gtx 480 :O :D

Could anyone run me through how to do it, like uninstalling drivers and safe mode etc.

I think it goes like this

1) Unplug all wires, take off side panel and remove the old gfx card via the clip by the pci-e slot and unscrewing the bracket

2) Install the new card by pressing it into the slot and putting the screw in the bracket

3) Replug all the wires and power on the system

4) Wait for it to load in uber low res x)

5) Install the drivers off the cd

6) Reboot and install the latest drivers of nvidia's website.

7) /faceroll :D

I think thats it but im a noob to all this pc assembling so any help would be amazing

Thanks and peace x

I would skip the drivers on the CD, and instead only install the latest from the Nvidia website. You will need to install the new drivers right after you boot up for the first time. Your procedure looks about right.

wilsamacgilsa

Distinguished
Feb 18, 2010
So i could do this

1) install newest drivers for the gts 250 on the site

2) uninstall the gts 250 and install the gtx 480

3) turn it on and itll be ready to go? :D

I would not worry about updating the drivers for your old card. I would also not assume it will plug and play with the old drivers, even if they are compatible. The PC will still need to install drivers for your new hardware. So, take out the old card, install the new card (don't forget the two 6 pin power connectors), turn on your PC, install the latest drivers from Nvidia.com.