Computer Turning off and on randomly

doitforjohnny

Distinguished
Jan 9, 2012
Hey guys,

So a bit of back story to my issue: I bought a new system and had a friend set it up for me. 1400 dollar system everything brand new. The system runs amazingly well....when it actually is working. For some reason it randomly will completely shut down for literally like one or two seconds and then power back up on its own. If I am just surfing the internet or doing small things like that it won't do it all that often, but it will still happen. I recently started playing the Old Republic and it literally would have this happen every 10-15 minutes while I am playing. I updated my BIOS for my MOBO and still had the issue. The RAM I got wasn't on the QVL and all my friends I have asked have said that this sounds like a Memory issue. I have ordered a different memory and after looking at the QVL there was only really one 2x4gb RAM set-up that was on the list so I got that. I am testing that to see if it works, but was wondering if there was any other ways of fixing this issue. All help and thoughts are appreciated! Thanks!

Sometimes it could be a power supply issue or a loose power connector.It also could be a setting in the bios , try resetting the bios. Have you loaded all of the drivers off the moptherboard cd and have you updated any. You can try updating the motherboard bios. The QVL memory listing is never a complete list since they never do get to test all of the available memory. So if it is not on the list it doesn't mean that it won't work in that MB.

Bones2525

Distinguished
Aug 29, 2011
If you can post the graphics card, power supply, and CPU that would be helpful. The graphics card might be too powerful for your PSU, or you might have gotten a faulty/low quality PSU. Run Windows Index Scores, and if it shuts off during the graphics test, that's your answer. New PSU.

doitforjohnny

Distinguished
Jan 9, 2012