$500 Gaming/Web PC | First Build

swizzle62

Distinguished
Feb 5, 2011
First off, I want to thank all of you crazy people who read these things and help people like me out, thats pretty awesome.

Current System: Hopefully this is even useful but i am currently running a WindowsXP from 2005 with a intel Core2 CPU @ 1.86ghz and 2gig ram. Dell prebuilt. I play CSS with the lowest quality game settings at 11 - 50 FPS depending on the map and whether or not i am looking at a wall.

I am newer to computers, I took a basic college course last term and have learned everything else via the internet. There are plenty of things i don't understand so it would be much appreciated if some reason for parts were explained - if its too complex and not worth explaining i understand, thanks still. This is my first build, I have a friend helping me put it together too.

FORM

Approximate Purchase Date: Not in a rush

Budget Range: Between $500-600 After Rebates

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Internet use, Youtube/Forums Mainly - Gaming (CSS, Magicka, L4D2)

Monitor Resolution:1280x1024

Parts Not Required: keyboard, mouse, monitor, speakers, OS

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: No preference although newegg seems to be the best. (Free shipping/Rebates)

Country of Origin: USA

Parts Preferences:
Hard Drive: I Really don't need much space I honestly think a 320 or so is more than enough if they sell those.
CD/DVD Drive: Yes.
RAM: You guys probably know the amount I should get better than me, depending on the CPU of course.
Mobo: Up To you guys; Does USB 3.0 Help a lot towards what I want?

CPU: I multitask a lot. Play a Youtube video while in game and 10 tabs open on Firefox. Does that mean a Quad-Core would be more suitable even at a lower clock speed. But Quad cores i see are typically AMD while Intel is talked about having better chips anyways. I don't know.