Sign in with
Your question

5850 crossfire value?

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
December 8, 2010 5:08:09 PM

Hey guys, I'm not an expert on computers so I'm hpoing some of you pros can give me some good advice.

I want to build a new computer next year with the sandy bridge architcture. Looking at a 2600 chip. I'm currently using a 30 inch lcd at 2500x1600 and running a 5850 vid card 1g.

Does it make sense to purchase a new vid card 699x when it comes out or would it make more sense to just get another 5850 and crossfire it? I think last I checked, newegg has it for 180.

currently, my 5850 does struggle at some spots when I try to max resolution it. I usually turn down antialiasing..and a few other things. I'd like to put everything to max if possible. Also, with sandybridge, I'm thinking a 5850 would be my new choke point.

Would a 5850 provide me enough horses to go on for another 2 years without worrying about graphics cards? Or would I be not making the best use of my new computer? I'd obviously be using this to play games...shooters and intensive graphic games.

Thanks

More about : 5850 crossfire

a c 599 U Graphics card
December 8, 2010 5:18:59 PM

I would say get the second 5850. That is why we initially bought a single video card isn't it? In order to eventually upgrade to a dual card setup? The 6900 series isn't going to blow everyone's mind into the next dimension. It will be an incremental upgrade to existing technology. A single 6900 series card will likely cost more than double the cost of the 5850, and will not come close to the performance of the 5850 in Crossfire.

The only caveat I would offer is: The 6900 series will most certainly offer improved DirectX 11 tesselation performance over the 5800 series. This will be a valid consideration as more and more DirectX 11 games come out that feature more intensive tesselation. For $180, I would get the second 5850.
m
l
December 8, 2010 5:29:04 PM