Sign in with
Your question
Closed

May be ordering these from NewEgg (NEED URGENT HELP PLEASE!)

Last response: in Systems
February 8, 2011 8:34:55 AM

What do you guys think, for a "starter rig"? Forget that it doesn't make lattes , or massage your feet... I'm fairly new to this all. And , it's not meant to win 1st prize at some gamers convention.

More about : ordering newegg urgent

February 8, 2011 10:19:38 AM

Hello lncognito;

I like where you're going with that.
The only quibble I have is with the open box motherboard. An open box video card is less of an issue as far as Im concerned.

I would suggest getting the retail box version instead. The open box has limitation in the return options.
http://www.newegg.com/HelpInfo/ReturnPolicy.aspx#29
"If you purchase an Open-Box product Newegg guarantees only that you will receive the product itself; accessories MAY OR MAY NOT BE INCLUDED with Open-Box products. Newegg will not send you a missing accessory, even if the missing accessory is required in order to properly make use of all the product’s advertised functions"
An open box can be an EXCELLENT option for someone replaces a failed part, if they already have all the other items in the retail box accessory pack. You could get lucky and everything will be there, that could happen.

If you want to keep the cost the same I'd say go with the retail motherboard
and get the AMD Athlon II X3 445 Rana 3.1GHz CPU @ $77 instead.
Score
February 8, 2011 10:23:13 AM

Excellent find on the NZXT M59 / OCZ StealthXstream II 600W PSU. $59 a/r rebate. ^5
Score
Related resources
February 9, 2011 3:40:14 AM

Did you change out the motherboard?
Score
February 9, 2011 4:26:04 AM

No? I dont think so?

And as far as the open box... ive only got $500 to spend.

Also, the GPU is no longer available:(  I need to find another!