Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Why microphone jack cannot function

Last response: in Components
May 8, 2011 6:06:38 AM

Hello,

Does anyone know how to trouble shoot the problem of the contact of the microphone jack on my notebook ?

Thanks!
May 11, 2011 1:47:31 PM

Have never done it before but I'm an AV tech so here's my best steps...

Within Recording Devices/Mircophone (right click the volume control bottom rhs of screen), do you get any level change on the test bars when you use your mic? Also check properties etc for a comment such as the device is working properly. If not you should be able to find the device type in Hardware and Google for device driver updates....

If not, if you can, try a seocond mic to check its not you mic (obvious it seems but essential to check - I had a faultly Audio Out jack in a $3k projector last week, but I thought it was most likely a cable fault). Otherwise check out your mic on any other desktop PC with a pink 3.5mm stereo input via the Recording Devices/Mircophone mentioned above.

As the Mic is an input I can't see anyway a Multimeter attached to the jack could give any further feedback to help.

If the Mic works, if the drivers are up to date then its likely an issue with your laptops soundcard, which when intregrated with the main board is usually an expensive repair (my last one was done via warranty on an old Mac Powerbook-if I'd had to pay I wouldn't have fixed it.

Good Luck mate.

Best solution

May 11, 2011 2:29:08 PM

Also, If you're keen enough to open the laptop up, from the back (in)side of the jack you'll have three contacts. One is a common.

By inserting an old 3.5mm stereo jack cable and stripping it to its 3 wires you could test continuity thru the jack, as after a while the old sprung metal contacts inside the jack bend and don't touch with the mic plug..

Or you might find that one of the three (most likely the common connection to the board has broken when a mic plug has bent in the jack).