Sign in with
Your question

Need help on 3D PC (first time tower buy'r)

Last response: in Systems
February 8, 2011 12:40:47 PM

Approximate Purchase Date: about a month

Budget Range: $3,000 (before rebates)

System Usage from Most to Least Important: gaming > surfing the net > school

Parts Not Required: In need of all parts.....

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: newegg.com (is the only place I've purchased, I'm open to reccomendations...I was thinking about a pre-built as well)

Country of Origin: United States?

Parts Preferences: unkown (open to suggestions)

Overclocking: Maybe (i've never messed around with overclocking before but am up to looking into it)

SLI or Crossfire: Maybe (depends a bit on feedback I'm still unsure)

Monitor Resolution: 1920x1080 the best i can get with 3d at this point, right?

Additional Comments: This is my first time purchasing a tower...needless to say I was considering purchasing a pre-made from ibuypower or cyberpower....I've currently been gaming on a 3 year old laptop 9800 gts 2 core duo :/  and I'm way behind the curve trying to play metro 2033 or dragon age on it. So i was looking for some feed back on my build at what would be completely wrong with it and where i can make improvements to get more bang for my buck...I'm not very good with fixing/tinkering with computers myself and was looking at the best possible "now" 3d pc i could find for 3kish bucks. Please don't be to harsh on me :p . Here was the system build i was looking at going with

Case CoolerMaster HAF 922 Gaming Case - Black
Processor Intel® Core™ i7 950 Processor (4x 3.06GHz/8MB L3 Cache)
Processor Cooling Asetek 550LC Liquid CPU Cooling System
Memory 6 GB [2 GB X3] DDR3-1600 - Corsair XMS3 Dominator w/DHX technology
Video Card NVIDIA GeForce GTX 560 Ti - 2GB - SLI Mode (Dual Cards)
Motherboard ASUS Sabertooth X58 (SLI compatible)
Power Supply 850 Watt -- CoolerMaster RS850