Sign in with
Your question

College Student w/ 600 USD budget

Last response: in Systems
Anonymous
February 9, 2011 7:20:22 PM

Hello everyone this is my first post. I am glad to have become a member of this popular site. This will be my first build ever!! I am a starving student and I can only afford approx 600. I used Microsoft office on the daily, I have just picked up a dslr so I’ve been using lightroom, and I play video games on the pc like: League of Legends, Starcraft, and I am most definitely getting Diablo 3. im in need of some expertise in that I can perform 3 of the above daily tasks the best I can within budget.

My current computer:
I have a 20” monitor acer, 1600 x 900
Old shuttle with amd 64 dual core 2.00ghz
Radeon x1600 pro video card
Old 320gb WD HDD
Cheap case with cheap psu 430W
IDE cd/dvd write combo
Windows 7

Keyboard and mouse
And speakers.

I am going to use the old computer as a HTPC so I need brand new parts everything!
I don’t need an OS, monitor, keyboard, mouse, and speakers
Thanks again forums members ;D
February 9, 2011 7:31:21 PM

At that resolution my 600$ build in my siggy could run games and anything you'd like just fine. Most MMO's don't really use that much gpu power. SC2 is a different story, but if your referring to the first SC then it'll run just fine with the 6850/460 I list in my budget builds.
m
l
Anonymous
February 9, 2011 7:33:57 PM

Approximate Purchase Date: mid march
Budget Range: 600 USD

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Home Office, Photo Editing, Gaming
Parts Not Required: (e.g.: keyboard, mouse, monitor, speakers, OS)
Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Newegg
Country of Origin: USA
Parts Preferences: no Preference, but I do like that Antec 300 case
Overclocking: yes, but just to the degree where you don’t have to fiddle with the voltage
SLI or Crossfire: no
Monitor Resolution: 1600 x 900
Additional Comments: Quiet, quiet, quiet

@aznshinobi: yes i was referring to SC2 sorry bout that
m
l
Related resources