boggess380

Distinguished
Jan 24, 2010
Ok so I just bought a intel d955xcs mother board and i have a 1000watt power supply from the dell that its going into..is that gonna be too much for the mother board?

tortnotes

Distinguished
Jul 31, 2009
Generally speaking, any power supply with enough wattage will work with any motherboard. If the motherboard only needs 150w, then it'll only take 150w.

You might want to check into that Dell PSU though--research the model number and see if it's the same as a normal ATX power supply. Even if the plugs are the same... just to be sure. I think some of their hardware is electrically differentiated from the ATX standard.

howardp6

Distinguished
Aug 19, 2008
The efficiency of the power supply is the true issue at eh power level used. If are using only twenty to thrity percent the efficency may be lower that at ninety to a hundred percent of rated power.

boggess380

Distinguished
Jan 24, 2010
thank you very much..im new to replacing motherboards completely but the computer was free. I just wanted to make sure. Also the xps 700 has front panel l.e.d's which are controlled by the bios...any idea how that feature can be obtained using a new motherboard?

I assume you mean the power and hard drive activity led's on the front panel of your case.

The answer to your question is it depends on the make and model of your new motherboard. You'll have to consult the motherboard manual and access BIOS when you boot to see if the feature exists. If the feature exists, then you can either enable or disable the led's in the BIOS.

If the feature does not exist in BIOS and for some reason you do not want the led's on, then simply do not connect the led power cables to the motherboard. It won't cause any problems if those cables are not plugged in.