CrossfireX Confusion

Status
Not open for further replies.

SmashBro722

Distinguished
Dec 12, 2010
OK, first off, I'm new here, since this is my first time building a PC, and this website popped up a lot for answers. My questions for the experts is about ATI's CrossfireX ability, in general:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131668

This is an Asus motherboard I'm looking at, and it fits the bill for what I'm looking for when it comes to ports, however, it says it has CrossfireX technology, and that it has 2 PCI 2.0 slots, however in detail, it says one is @ 16x and the other is @ 4x. I'm new to this kind of stuff, so I'm guessing that if I were to try and use any 2 graphics cards together, one would only be working at 4x the capacity. Strangely, though, it looks like both slots are exactly the same size, so I'm very confused by this.
Now, I just want to tell you that I'm mainly trying to make a video editing rig first, a gaming pc second, so I know graphics cards aren't the most important things for video editing despite popular belief, but what I'm trying to ask is this: Is CrossfireX really worth it? Would it work efficiently on this motherboard considering one slot is at 4x the capacity instead of 16x? If it would, what would you recommend as a good Radeon pairing of graphics cards? If it wouldn't, what Radeon card would be best as a standalone for my kind of PC?

I'm on a budget, so I'd say if you could recommend me a decent card, it'd have to be under 150$. I really hope you can help me out here, it's the first time I've ever built a PC, and it's very frustrating.

Solution