Sign in with
Your question

I2500k Running Too Hot?

Last response: in CPUs
May 12, 2011 1:50:29 PM

Hey all, I just built a new PC using the i2500K and when I run the Prime95 Blend Test, my temps shoot up to the 90s Celsius almost right away. I am using the stock heat sink fan and I didn't apply any extra thermal paste because it appeared to be pre-applied. Should I have applied paste or could I possible have done something else wrong? This is my first build so I could very well have overlooked something simple. Thanks.

My system:
CPU- i5-2500k @3.30 GHz
MB- MSI P67A-G45 (B3)
GPU- Sapphire 100312-1GS HD6950 1GB
RAM- 4GBx2 Gskill
PSU- Rosewill RG630-S12 630W

More about : i2500k running hot

May 12, 2011 2:05:42 PM

Hi killbomb, what are your idle temps, and how long have you been running your PC since you finished assembly.

A couple of things to mention about stock heatsinks/thermal paste and especially the i5 2500k series (or the Sandybridge for that matter).

- There seems to be a lot of people having difficulty making sure the heatsink is firmly clamped down and secure. (I will admit with my recent i3 2100 build I had to go back and make sure my heatsink was properly clamped down when I was getting high temps and it turned out it wasn't). I would go back and just make sure it is in fact secure and all the pins and properly installed.

- The stock thermal paste on the new Sandy Bridge chips take awhile to cure which is why I asked how long you have been running your PC. I recently did a 2500k build and my temps were originally high, but after leaving my computer running for about 6-8 hours the temps dropped by about 15 degrees.

- Admittedly, the stock heatsink won't perform that great especially compared to aftermarket ones, especially if you are at 100% load or in your Prime95 tests. You didn't mention whether you had done any OC'ing but I'm assuming not at this point. The stock heatsink would not be recommended for any of that.