Bought a 6850, have questions.

thisguy105

Distinguished
Dec 8, 2010
Ignorance is a bliss. I'm new at pc gaming and I do know a little bit, but I don't know all the technical details of the graphics cards, processors, mobos and I would like to learn about them. I don't want to go to forums every time asking if so and so parts good. I would like to have enough knowledge to know what parts to buy myself. Anyways, I bought a 6850 without knowing it's a midrange card. The guy at the shop told me it was a high end card. After finding out I'm a bit disappointed because I'm going for the high end stuff that will last a long time and run games without problems. This is what I bought.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16813131655
ASUS M4A89TD PRO/USB3 AM3 AMD 890FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16814150516

XFX HD-685X-ZNDC Radeon HD 6850 1GB 256-bit DDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card with Eyefinity

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16820145260
CORSAIR XMS3 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model CMX4GX3M2A1600C9

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16819103727
AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb 3.4GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 125W Quad-Core Processor HDZ965FBGMBOX

Should I return the graphics card and get a better one? Or return everything and get better stuff?

While the 6850 is the new midranged card of the 6000 series. The high end line up has not yet been released, so it actually is a high end card for now. It performs very close to the 5870/5850's, in many cases it's faster.

You got a nice card for your needs and it overclocks to 6870 performance.

Btw, what monitor resolution do you use?

thisguy105

Distinguished
Dec 8, 2010