Sign in with
Your question

Bought a 6850, have questions.

Last response: in Graphics & Displays
December 12, 2010 5:19:52 PM

Ignorance is a bliss. I'm new at pc gaming and I do know a little bit, but I don't know all the technical details of the graphics cards, processors, mobos and I would like to learn about them. I don't want to go to forums every time asking if so and so parts good. I would like to have enough knowledge to know what parts to buy myself. Anyways, I bought a 6850 without knowing it's a midrange card. The guy at the shop told me it was a high end card. After finding out I'm a bit disappointed because I'm going for the high end stuff that will last a long time and run games without problems. This is what I bought.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E168...
ASUS M4A89TD PRO/USB3 AM3 AMD 890FX SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 ATX AMD Motherboard

XFX HD-685X-ZNDC Radeon HD 6850 1GB 256-bit DDR5 PCI Express 2.1 x16 HDCP Ready CrossFireX Support Video Card with Eyefinity

CORSAIR XMS3 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model CMX4GX3M2A1600C9

AMD Phenom II X4 965 Black Edition Deneb 3.4GHz 4 x 512KB L2 Cache 6MB L3 Cache Socket AM3 125W Quad-Core Processor HDZ965FBGMBOX

Should I return the graphics card and get a better one? Or return everything and get better stuff?

More about : bought 6850 questions

a c 217 U Graphics card
December 12, 2010 5:26:00 PM

While the 6850 is the new midranged card of the 6000 series. The high end line up has not yet been released, so it actually is a high end card for now. It performs very close to the 5870/5850's, in many cases it's faster.

You got a nice card for your needs and it overclocks to 6870 performance.

Btw, what monitor resolution do you use?
m
l
December 12, 2010 5:42:47 PM