krikle

Distinguished
Apr 17, 2010
Hi,

Looking to build a rig for my cousin that will be used mostly for gaming. Medium to heavy gaming. He uses my machine (which I built) all the time and it seems to play whatever he throws at it (COD, etc,). I have an i5-750 and 4GB RAM with a discrete video card.

So in building his machine I was gonna go with the same CPU - i5 750 ... but I'm wondering about the i5-2500? I can get a good price on it but I haven't used it before. I've got some experience with the i5-750 and I've built several PCs with them and the CPU seems to work flawlessly with stock cooler. No high temps or over heating. So... i5 or i5-2500????

He's not gonna be over clocking it so.. and the video card will be no less than a 1GB. But in looking, I find a better selection of boards with an 1156 CPU...maybe it's just me? Please reply asap.

Krystal

G

Don't mean to be rude, but this is a dumb question, the 2500 is one of the fastest quad cores on the market, it is better than the 750, most of use here would call you crazy if you buy anything 1156 now.

The i5 2500 is faster than i7 8xx,

If you read some of the articles on this website, you will know that the 2500/2500k is the best gaming processor and tom's hardware doesn't recommend you buy anything better than it for gaming.

In short, get the 2500.

If I were you, I would sell him/her my 750 rig for cheap and build a new 2500 one.

There is a fairly big performance increase by stepping from the Intel® Core™ I5-750 to the Intel Core I5-2500 or 2500K. You can see the difference between the Intel Core I5-760 and the Intel Core I5-2500K here http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/109?vs=288. Since the cost difference between these processors and their boards is very small, my advice is to move up to the 2nd generation Intel Core processors.