Help required! Installing new card.

SteveTaylor11

Distinguished
Dec 12, 2010
Hey guys,

Before I start, can I just say that I'm not very experienced whatsoever with hardware, so please bear with me.

I recently bought a new system which was affordable and was hoping to upgrade it as time went on.

I have a Nvidia 8800 GTS card lying around (PCI-e) that I bought two years ago but haven't actually used, so I tried to install it myself.

I went to the device manager and disabled my current display adapter (on board) and also went to the BIOS and changed the settings so that it would boot from PCI before installing the new card. After connecting the new card, I powered up the PC and thought everything was a success, however soon noticed that my monitor wouldn't display anything :( I could hear the usual boot process running (Windows 7 noises etc) and there were no beeps when I booted.

I wondered if there may be any of you who might have suggestions?

My mobo is a: ASUS P5G41-M LX2 (which I know is not very good)

and I have a 550W power supply, so I don't think that is the problem. When I booted the PC, the fans on the GPU would spin up, but I wouldn't see anything on the monitor. My monitor uses a VGA connection.

Sorry if my terminology isn't too great, very new to this sort of thing.

Any help would be very much appreciated.

Steve.

gracefully

Distinguished
Jan 30, 2010
It was an idiot-proofing question, actually. Some people actually forget to swap the video connection to the new graphics card.

The 8800 GTS requires a 6-pin PCIe power connector. Did you plug that in?

SteveTaylor11

Distinguished
Dec 12, 2010
Yeah, I used the 6 pin power connector. There was one coming directly from my power supply that was left over, I assume that it is ok to use that one? (I'm very new to this sorry)

Psychoteddy

Distinguished
Dec 7, 2010