Sign in with
Your question

[Prebuilt] Emachine desktop upgrade. Hardware recs needed!

Last response: in Systems
February 12, 2011 7:04:09 PM

I have an emachine et1831-07 desktop that's about 8 months old. It's working fairly decent, but I am an online student and run my computer for a good portion of the day. It gets a bit cranky and starts being alarmingly noisey once it's been run for a few hours and you try and open up any applications (especially flash based ones) or watch things continiously. Considering it's not falling aparts at the seams I'd like to make replace some of the parts in order to get a better operating desktop. Here's are some the specs on the desktop I could find:

Intel® Pentium® Processor E5400 (2.70GHz, 2MB L2 cache, 800MHz FSB)
NVIDIA® GeForce® 7050
1T Western Digital harddrive [ I had to upgrade this because the one that came with it started failing ]
4GB DDR2 dual-channel (2 × 2GB)
16x DVD±R/RW SuperMulti drive

I was told before I think the psu was only a 200-250w and needed to be replaced? What watage should I go up to? What all should I or can I replace? Is there anything I should add on (like a cooler/fans)? If possible rec specific hardware. I know how to install but I don't know much about picking the right kind of HW that's compatible.

After upgrades I'd like the computer to be able to run effectivly during the day for long hours. Again, I use a lot of flash based programs. I watch alot programs and listen to music. I download and torrent often. I'd like to be able to multi task better. I'd also possibly like to be able to upgrade it enough to play online and PC games.
February 12, 2011 7:37:36 PM

Sounds like you have a heat buildup in your case. Possible a couple of case fans one for intake one for exhaust would sort that issue out.
m
l
February 13, 2011 8:25:08 AM