Bios upgrade for M2N78-LA (Violet) MOBO

cwr64

Distinguished
Oct 28, 2009
Can anyone tell me where to find/download the most current/correct bios upgrade for M2N78-LA (Violet) MOBO. I'm running a HP P6228p desktop with Win7 64bit Home Premium. Since the bios upgrade that HP sent out last summer (5.16?), the cpu fan goes off racing like a jet engine even when the PC isn't being used. To my knowledge, HP has never sent out another bios upgrade to address the problems they created on this MOBO with their bios upgrade, and they (HP) offer no way to restore to the older bios level..

To enter the bios, use the "del" on the lower right side of your keyboard just before the post screen appears. Then search the bios files one by one until you find "smartfan" and enable it. If you don't find it, exit without saving. If you do find it and change the setting to enable, then use the "save and exit" option or simply press f10.

cwr64

Distinguished
Oct 28, 2009
OK - I told you I am a rookie. Is the "post" screen the 1st screen that appears when booting - before the Windows starting screen appears? So in other words, do I tap the "del" key prior to anything at all appearing on the monitor after I hit the power on button? And when you say "bios files" do you mean bios display/update screens?

cwr64

Distinguished
Oct 28, 2009